The First Rule of Fat Club: Don’t Talk About Fat Club Or Fitness

Toni Crowe
2 min readFeb 24, 2019
https://pixabay.com/en/box-sport-men-training-male-1514845/

Most people are uncomfortable talking to a heavy person about fitness.

I was a proud member of “Fat Club.” My doctor insisted that I lose weight. I agreed because I wanted to live for the longest time possible.

Overweight Discussions

After I started losing weight, I discovered an unwritten rule about being overweight. We don’t talk about fitness. Overweight people don’t easily share their challenges about getting or staying fit. The discussions are awkward.

When I was super-sized, my conversations with others regarding weight and fitness were superficial. My size drove the conversation. If the conversation turned to fitness, say weight training; the conversation lasted about one minute before the subject would return to discussing diets.

The gist of most of these conversations was diet. Then, dead stop. Quiet. No additional discussion of the tools and techniques required to become fit or stay fit.

--

--

Toni Crowe

Sharing the hard lessons I've learned in life. Best-selling author. Humorist. Editor. Writing whatever interests me . Owner: No Air. Editor:MuddyUm.